LibGuides: Tate exhibitions bibliography: Introduction

This guide collates catalogues relating to exhibitions held at the Tate Gallery, formerly the National Gallery of British Art, since 1911. These catalogues, along with other Tate publications, are available at Tate Library, and be accessed on open shelves in Library reading room at Tate Britain.

For more information about Tate Library, search our catalogue and book an appointment, please visit our website.

This guide was created by Maud Cooper, former Liaison Librarian - British Art, based on a bibliography compiled by Library staff. It is in development: we hope that you'll find it useful, let us know if you have any comments or questions.

The sculpture gallery, Tate Gallery, 1898. Photo: Tate

The entrance hall rotunda, Tate Gallery. Photo: Tate

To learn more about Tate and its history, the Tate website has introductions to all locations:

The Tate: a history by Frances Spalding
ISBN: 1854372319

Publication Date: 1998

The Tate Gallery opened in 1897 and came into being as a result of growing recognition of an urgent need for a national gallery of British art. In 1889 the initiative was taken by Henry Tate, a collector of British art whose fortune was made from refining sugar. Tate offered the nation his collection and a building to house it. After much debate this offer was accepted and the Tate Gallery was built on the site of the former Millbank prison. Officially it was called the National Gallery of British Art, but soon became known to everyone as the Tate.
Tate Gallery: an illustrated companion
ISBN: 9781854370587

Publication Date: 1991

This record of the collections of one of the world's great art museums has more than 300 colour reproductions, accompanied by a detailed commentary. Each of the 37 sections is introduced by a brief illustrated essay, followed by individual discussion of up to five major works. The text covers five centuries of British and international art. It treats the present as continuous with the past, giving equal attention to the work of the historic old masters, that of the established masters of the modern era, and the more controversial achievements of the most recent generations of artists.
Art for the nation: exhibitions and the London public 1747-2001 by Brandon Taylor
ISBN: 0719054532

Publication Date: 1999

Art first became public in Britain through a series of interlocking relationships between national galleries, patrons, collections of art, and sections or classes of the population as a whole. This study concentrates on London, and analyzes the formation of the major national art institutions at its geographical and managerial centre.

You can buy books and catalogues accompanying Tate exhibitions past and present at Tate Shop

Tate Bibliographies A-Z
View a complete list of all our bibliographies.